Board Members

Board Memebers.

The Board is responsible for the leadership, strategy, and priorities of MJAP. They are charged with the delivery of the overall mission, program direction and for the day to day running of the program. It is comprised of:

Prof. Moses Kamya


Prof. Moses R. Kamya (Ph.D.) -BOARD CHAIRPERSON Department of Medicine, Makerere University College of Health Sciences Dr. Kamya (M.B.Ch.B, M.Med, MPH, PhD) is a Professor of Medicine at Makerere University College of Health Sciences and Executive Director of the Infectious Diseases Research Collaboration (, Uganda..


Dr. Stephen Watiti

Representative of people living with HIV/AIDS – Member

Dr. Watiti studied medicine from Makerere University and currently works at the National Forum of PLHIV Networks in Uganda (NAFOPHANU).


Mr. Nicholas Mugumya

Finance and Accounting

Mr. Mugumya is a Financial management and Accounting professional and currently works as a private Consultant in Financial management and leadership. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree and a Masters in Business Administration.


Dr. Zepher Karyabakabo

Chair Technical Committee of the Board

Dr. Zepher Karyabakabo (MBChB, MPH) is a medical doctor and a Public Health Specialist. He has been in clinical and public health practice for over 30 years. He is currently the Director of Policy, Research and Programming at The Uganda AIDS Commission.


Dr. Joshua Musinguzi

Ministry of Health-Member

Dr. Joshua Musinguzi is the Program Manager, AIDS Control Program at the Uganda Ministry of Health. In this capacity, Dr. Musinguzi leads the coordination of HIV prevention, care and treatment services in Uganda.


Dr. Rosemary Kusaba Byanyima


Dr. Rosemary Byanyima Kusaba- DEPUTY BOARD CHAIRPERSON Dr. Rosemary Kusaba Byanyima is a Senior Consultant Radiologist and the Deputy Executive Director of Mulago National Referral Hospital.


Dr. Harriet Birabwa-Oketcho

Butabika Hospital – Member

Dr. Birabwa-Oketcho (MB.Ch.B, MMed(Psy), PostGradDip,DHOS) is a Senior Consultant Psychiatrist and Head of the Clinical Department at Butabika National Psychiatric Referral Hospital with over 18 years’ experience in offering clinical care to patients with mental illness including HIV related psychiatric problems.


Professor Gertrude Kiwanuka

Makerere University Legal Unit-Member

Dr. Gertrude N. Kiwanuka is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine, Mbarara University of Science and Technology. She joined Mbarara University of Science and Technology in 1992 as a Master of Science postgraduate student. She holds a BSc. degree (Makerere University), a MSc.


Dr. Barigye Celestine

Chair Procurement and Risk Management Committee

Dr. Barigye is the Director of Mbarara Regional and Referral Hospital. Prior to this appointment, he served as the Technical and Personal Assistant to the Honorable former Minister of Health, Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda. Dr. Barigye has also served as Bushenyi District Health Officer and a Lecturer at Kampala International University.


Professor Umar Kakumba

Chair Human Resources and Administration Sub Committee of the Board

Umar Kakumba is Associate Professor (Public Sector Management) and Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs), Makerere University. He is the immediate former Dean of the Faculty at School of Business and Management at Makerere, a position he held for eight years. He previously served as Head, Department of Management at Makerere University.


Mrs. Naome Kiconco

Makerere University Legal Unit-Member

Mrs. Ochieng is an advocate of the High Court with over 10 years’ experience as an in-house legal counsel at Makerere University. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Law (LLB), Post graduate Diploma in Legal Practice (DLP), Post Graduate Diploma in Public Administration and Management (PGDPAM), Masters in Theology and Contextualized Pastoral Ministry.


Associate Professor Isaac Kajja

Makerere University College of Health Sciences -Member

Dr. Kajja (MBCHB, M.MED (Orthopaedics), FCS (ECSA), PhD (UMCG-The Netherlands) is currently the Deputy Principal College of Health Sciences, Makerere University. He is a healthcare practitioner, specializing as an Orthopedic Surgeon.


Dr. Fred Collins Semitala

Executive Director & Secretary to the Board

Dr. Semitala is the Executive Director and Secretary to the Board. He trained as a physician at Makerere University and trained in evidence-Based Medicine from the Institute of Tropical Medicine, Belgium. He has a Master of Public Health in Epidemiology from the University of California Berkeley, USA and postgraduate training in implementation Science from the University of California San Francisco.